Hello, today we will help you How to delete an Outlook & Hotmail. A lot of people have problems doing this process. We also write this article as a guide for you. Outlook is one of the most powerful email services on the Internet.
Delete Outlook / Hotmail Account
To start deleting your Outlook / Hotmail account you will need a web browser (it can be a PC or a mobile device) with an Internet connection. Of course, it is essential that you remember your email address and password to log in and that Microsoft can unsubscribe you. Here are the steps to delete your Outlook account:
- Access https://account.live.com/closeaccount.aspx, which has a special section to delete Outlook or Hotmail accounts .
- Start the session with your access data, it can be email, phone number or Skype and then enter your password.
- Cancel current subscriptions
- Cancel any current company or organization services and delete the Azure Active Directory directories.
- Delete maintenance records
- The remaining balances or in favor of your account (gift cards or others) will be lost, you can check in the link if you have a balance in favor.
- The Skype credit you have in the account will be lost (you could enter Skype, you can check the link if you have credit in your favor.
- Automatic responses will be activated, that is, you will continue to receive emails for the 60-day period before your account is permanently deleted. If someone writes to you, they will receive a message advising them that your account will be closed in a short time.Read carefully the Microsoft alert message ” Make sure that [email protected] is ready to close ” with the legal texts and the implication of deleting the email account, among which are.
- Select all the boxes and indicate why you want to delete your email account, in this step, you will be informed of the services involved to which you will lose access. Please read carefully before proceeding.
- If you agree, press the blue button « Mark account for closing «.
- A message will appear with the date when your account will be permanently deleted. Press the blue button « Done «.
- You have just successfully requested the deletion! From now on, you just have to wait until your account is deleted automatically.
Cancel the Outlook or Hotmail account removal process
If the mentioned 60-day period has not yet passed, you can reverse the process of deleting your Outlook / Hotmail account and recover it only by logging in. Next, we explain the steps to recover the account :
- Access https://login.live.com and log into your Outlook / Hotmail account.
- Enter your usual access data , that is, your email or phone number or Skype username and password.
- An alert will appear asking ‘ Reopen account? «, You will see the scheduled final deletion date and will ask you« What do you want to do? «, Press the blue button” Reopen account “to start account recovery.
- Verify your identity by sending an email to your secondary email address or via SMS to the phone number registered in your account. Choose a verification method to identify yourself and press.
Reasons to delete an Outlook or Hotmail account
Not many people decide to delete their email account, since being free, it usually falls into oblivion. However, lack of use, privacy concerns, and other concerns are reasons enough to delete a Microsoft Hotmail / Outlook account. Here are the main reasons / opinions that users express to Microsoft when initiating the erasure process:
- Multiple email accounts : if you have several accounts, it is possible to get confused when trying to access or use certain services, something that is solved by closing the unused accounts and keeping a main account.
- I use an account in another service and I don’t use this one : many people use services like Gmail or Yahoo! Mail / Mail Yahoo! therefore, it is a common reason for deletion.
- Hacked or hacked account : when deleting it, the hacker will not be able to access your data.
- I no longer need an Outlook account : having another email account with my own domain or other services.
- Confusion with Skype access : Many users still use the “username” to access Skype, but having merged, new Skype accounts are created only from an Outlook / Hotmail email account, allowing more than 200 million users, which Skype initially had, continue to log in with their “username”, creating confusion for someone else to contact them.